Internet Explorer (IE) is no longer supported by this website.  Please use Chrome or Firefox as your browser.

Maintenance of Certification (MOC)


CME Credit for the Continuing Certification Process
Diplomates who successfully complete the 5-year Continuing Certification Milestone can earn 60 AMA PRA Category I CME credits from the American Medical Association (AMA).
Information on how to apply for the CME credit can be found on the AMA's website at

2024 Continuing Certification Important Dates

5-Year Continuing Certification Milestone 
2024 Application Opens
2024 Application Submission Ends
2024 Continuing Certification Exam Begins
2024 Continuing Certification Exam Ends

  5-year Milestone

Learn more »

Patient Safety

Learn More »

MOC Overview

Learn more »

10-year Milestone

Learn More »

Practice Quality  
Improvement Project

Learn More »

MOC Policies

Learn more »

ABTS Critical Care Policy

The American Board of Thoracic Surgery considers it inappropriate to exclude its Diplomates from credentialing for care of thoracic surgical patients in a critical care setting based on the Diplomate's training or board certification. Our Diplomates have been trained in critical care management of thoracic surgical patients and they have successfully completed both written and oral examinations, which cover the critical care aspects of the thoracic surgical patients.